Astrology Free Astrology Charts

Whether you know it or not, you likely know something about astrology. After all, many of us know our astrological sign and use the free astrology charts online to check our horoscopes. However, astrology is about more than knowing whether you’re an Aquarius or a Virgo.

Translated from Greek, the word “astrology” means “the study of the stars.” Astrology focuses on how the positions of the celestial bodies (planets, stars, etc.) impact human affairs, personality and more. Indeed, a number of people believe that astrology can be used not only to explain events that occurred in the past and that are currently occurring but also to reveal events that will occur in the future.

Astrologer Defined

A person who practices astrology is called an astrologer, though he may also be referred to as an astrologist.

The Zodiac and Astrology Charts

Ancient astrologers used the constellations to develop the twelve signs of the zodiac. The signs of the zodiac are assigned to people based on their date of birth:

  • Aries (March 21 to April 20)
  • Taurus (April 21 to May 21)
  • Gemini (May 22 to June 21)
  • Cancer (June 22 to July 23)
  • Leo (July 24 for August 23)
  • Virgo (August 24 to September 23)
  • Libra (September 34 to October 23)
  • Scorpio (October 24 to November 22)
  • Sagittarius (November 23 to December 22)
  • Capricorn (December 23 to January 20)
  • Aquarius (January 21 to February 19)
  • Pisces (February 20 to March 20).

The signs listed above and their corresponding dates are those of the topical zodiac, a system on which the majority of Western astrologers base their work.

Richard Giles and Astrology

Richard Giles is a writer, astrologer and Feng Shui consultant, among other things. He began studying astrology in 1987 and organizes the annual, two-day Crystal Water Astrology Conference.

Chinese Astrology

In Chinese astrology, there are no constellations, as there are in Western astrology. Instead, the positions of the major planets (Venus, Jupiter, Mercury, Mars and Saturn) as well as the positions of the Sun, Moon and comets at the time of a person’s birth are used to determine that person’s destiny in Chinese astrology.

The Chinese zodiac uses 12 animal signs to represent the different types of personalities:

  1. Rat
  2. Ox
  3. Tiger
  4. Rabbit
  5. Dragon
  6. Snake
  7. Horse
  8. Sheep
  9. Monkey
  10. Rooster
  11. Dog
  12. Pig.

These animal signs are assigned according to a person’s year of birth.

Astrology Critics

Although approximately 30 percent of Americans believe in astrology, many members of the scientific community consider astrology to be a pseudoscience. Ivan Kelly, a writer whose articles are often critical of astrology, once wrote that astrology:

“has no relevance to understanding ourselves, or our place in the cosmos. Modern advocates of astrology cannot account for the underlying basis of astrological associations with terrestrial affairs, have no plausible explanation for its claims, and have not contributed anything of cognitive value to any field of the social sciences.”

Despite such critics, however, a number of people continue to turn to astrology to better understand themselves and their place in the universe.