Meditation Chakra

Chakra meditation—or Chakra Anusandhana—means “discovery or search of the chakras.” During this type of meditation, you explore the chakras that exist within the body. As you gently awaken these chakras, you energize and balance your body, mind and spirit. In order to comprehend the power of chakra healing meditation, you need a clear understanding of the chakras and how each affects your wellbeing.

What are Chakras?

The word “chakra” is derived from a Sanskrit word, meaning “wheel.” Some translators take it to mean more specifically “spinning wheel.” Each chakra is viewed as a spinning vortex or wheel of continuous energy. Meditation helps to balance these energy centers, thereby bringing your body, mind and spirit into a more balanced state of wellbeing and inner peace. Balanced chakras facilitate both inner and outer healing.

During chakra healing meditation, this wheel spins outward from the center point of each chakra on the front of your body, and then outward from that same point on your back.

Chakras are thought to be located at various points on the “kundalini”—a serpent-shaped, energetic force that begins at the base of the spine and rises up to the top of the head or crown. The awakening of the kundalini results when the energy rises up the spine through the chakras, by means of meditation, awareness or energy healing. The kundalini has a spiritual or biblical meaning for some individuals.

Following are the seven main chakra colors, their locations and their meanings:

  • Red (base or root chakra; located just below the pelvis): Groundedness, survival and identity
  • Orange (hara or second chakra; located just below the naval, sacrum in the back): Creativity, sexuality and imagination
  • Yellow (solar plexus; located where your ribs meet): Digestion, personal power, goal manifestation and discipline
  • Green (heart; located in the center of your chest): Love, compassion, empathy and understanding
  • Blue (throat; located in your throat): Verbal communication, speaking your truth
  • Indigo (third eye; located in the middle of your forehead): Intuition, psychic ability, state of mind and devotion
  • Violet (crown; located on top of your head): Peace, wisdom, and connection to the Divine or higher presence and infiniteness.

Chakra meditation techniques focus on these seven energy power points throughout the human body. Since these primary chakras are thought to influence your physical, emotional and spiritual health, most people practice chakra healing meditation to promote health and wellbeing, and to heal illness.

Practicing Chakra Healing Meditations

As with many types of meditation, practice chakra meditation techniques in a quiet space, in order to bring about a sense of peace, calm and healing.

The following steps may guide you through a chakra meditation:

  1. Sit or lie down in a comfortable setting, keeping your spine straight.
  2. Close your eyes and relax your mind.
  3. Set your intention to clear all your chakras, allowing them to flow freely.
  4. Become aware of your spine and breathe deeply.
  5. Locate chakras within your body.
  6. Repeat the name of the chakra as you pass through it with your breath.
  7. Move your awareness to the chakra, and imagine your breath inhaling and exhaling through it, clearing it and opening it up to flow freely, bringing health and wellbeing.
  8. Before you end your practice, chant “Om” three times and sit quietly.
  9. End your meditation with the intention that your chakras are open, balanced and flowing.

Chakra meditation techniques may ignite a heightened self-awareness, while also easing stress, tension and clearing the mind of cluttered thoughts. You can practice chakra healing meditation at any age, and whenever it feels right for you.


Comcast. (n.d.). Chakra meditation.Retrieved August 13, 2010, from

Health and Yoga. (n.d.). Chakras meditation.Retrieved August 13, 2010, from

Spiritual Network. (n.d.). Chakras.Retrieved August 13, 2010, from

Three Hearts Company. (n.d.). The seven main chakras and seven chakra colors. Retrieved August 18, 2010, from