Celiac Disease Treatments Diet

Unfortunately, no known cure for celiac disease exists. The good news, though, is that a gluten free diet can help to relieve all the symptoms that can be uncomfortable and dangerous. Better yet, over a short period of time, all damage to the tissues of the small intestine can heal.

Severe cases of celiac disease require additional vitamins and supplements along with a gluten-free diet.

In order to effectively manage celiac disease, those who have it must stay on a gluten free diet forever. Cheating on a celiac diet or making an innocent mistake and inadvertently eating something with gluten will cause celiac symptoms to recur almost immediately.

The Gluten Free Diet

Sticking to a gluten free diet is quite a challenge. Gluten, a protein that’s found in wheat, rye, barley, bulgur and other grains, is prevalent in many different foods. Once you’re on a gluten free diet, your commitment to it must be life-long. You simply cannot eat foods that contain gluten.

Read labels carefully. When you see contents like MSG, emulsifiers, modified food starch, thickeners, stabilizers and distilled vinegar, you can be almost certain that the food contains gluten.

Shop at specialty or health food stores where foods are less likely to contain gluten additives. Although it can be a bit more expensive, avoiding foods that trigger gluten intolerance symptoms is of utmost importance to people with celiac disease. Here are just a few of the foods to avoid:

  • breads, pizza, cookies, crackers, cakes
  • grains and cereals
  • spaghetti and other wheat-flour pastas
  • canned soups
  • cold cuts
  • malted milk, cocoa and flavored teas
  • alcoholic drinks
  • many kinds of candy
  • many kinds of gravies and sauces.

A celiac diet means a lot more than simply not eating wheat products. You must also refrain from eating anything that contains grains like farina, graham flour, durum, spelt, matzo meal, kasha, kamut and triticale. Even buckwheat, amaranth and quinoa can cause problems. These grains are naturally wheat-free, but wheat might be mixed in with them during harvesting or processing.

Gluten in Non-Food Products

Be aware of the possible presence of gluten in:

  • vitamins (gluten might be added as a binding agent)
  • postage stamps
  • medications
  • cosmetics, including lipstick.

When on a gluten free diet, one can never be too careful. Don’t be afraid to ask a pharmacist about ingredients when you’re unsure of the contents of products you buy.

Foods To Enjoy

While a number of foods must be avoided, a plenty of foods are perfectly safe. The following are some of the foods that are still allowed within a gluten free diet:

  • fresh meats, fish, poultry
  • most dairy products
  • fruits
  • vegetables
  • rice
  • potatoes.

You can also enjoy pastas and certain breads if they’re made from gluten free flours such as rice, soy, corn or potato flour.

Starting a completely gluten free diet can be overwhelming at first, but in no time you’ll be familiar with the contents of most foods. Remember to alert your host or hostess when eating out. Bring your own snacks and avoid new foods until your can check labels yourself.

Resources

Beers, M.H.